Monday, August 2, 2010

uhm, hi blog!

Angela's blogging made me remember that blogging is something I used to do, and might want to start doing again. So, I'm going to try to do that. I'm sitting here and trying to avoid scratching my wrist (it itches; mosquito bite) or my knee (it itches, too) or my foot... bitey creatures are out all over the state of Virginia. Watch out!! And don't take a weekend trip to the swampy bit of the state; that's where the majority of these vile things are.

There is also a bite on my back.

As I sit here and write, I'm trying to think of something interesting to tell my adoring public! I did have a lovely weekend; after a drive that was TWICE the length it should have been, I had dinner with AJ, then went to see Katie; she and I went and hung out with some of her lab friends. When they suggested going to Matoaka and Wawa, Katie suggested that I take her keys and go back to her place and sleep. This sounded like a great idea to me, so I did that. Saturday morning, I had brunch with Kelly. Kate works at Cracker Barrel, so it was nice to see her, too! (And it goes without saying that I had a fabulous time with my little.) Then I took a walk down DoG street. Amanda works as one of those costumed colonial folk, so it was awesome to see her at her job! After an unfortunately brief visit (it was hot and I had planned too many things for one day), I walked back down DoG street to move my car and meet up with Andrew. Two littles in one day = a great day! (Or, at least, the Williamsburg bit was.) I had lunch with Andrew and his friends from Keio University. They're studying here for three weeks, learning about American colleges! They were all really nice and I had a great time talking with them and hanging out, although that was a brief thing, too. ):

After all that, I drove to the beach, and traffic was horrendous (traffic was backed up in two different places, so instead of driving an hour, I drove for about... 3, including the Parking Episode.) The Parking Episode is the horrific thing that happens when you try to find parking in Virginia Beach on a Saturday evening and you only want to park for about an hour and you only have $2 cash and there aren't any metered spaces available and you can't find any free parking in any of the neighborhoods a few blocks from the waterfront because those spots are taken, too. I was so frustrated that I actually cried. I parked my car in a lot where I would not have been able to leave it lest it get towed, and I cried. It wasn't a big sobbing cry. It was more of a one tear, two tear, I-can-pretend-this-is-an-allergy-watery-eye-thing sort of cry. I multitask, so whilst I was parked/crying a lil' bit, I texted Angela and Steph with the hopes of finding them, as Steph lives near-ish to the beach. One friend is better than no friends, so although I could not get them both, Steph was home and I was overjoyed by a) seeing her since I'd missed her and b) the availability of a dear friend when you really need one. I met some of her cool friends and had a good time by the pool, then I had to go home.

So, I drove home, and when I got home after the normal, expected 3 hours, I crashed into my bed and stayed there aside from that time I got up to go shower and whatnot.

And then I did Sunday.

There was so much going on that I'm looking forward to a quiet week! Perhaps babysitting isn't quiet, but it's a lot less stress than driving down to Swampland, USA. Yeah, I miss the College a lot, and it's beautiful, but... if only I could teleport all of my friends HERE instead...